Hello Guest

Author Topic: Landscape Photography Tips  (Read 3464 times)

Offline theqca

• Hero
    • Framed For Life
Landscape Photography Tips
« on: January 10, 2014, 10:24:47 AM »
Had thought I'd lost this post on jjmpf when the server went down...so moving it here just in case...

Please feel free to add your own tips / share more details / im still a novice so please do correct me if I've gone wrong somewhere...............

Equipment

I?m not going to say equipment doesn?t matter ? it does to some extent provided you have the skills.

If money is no object get the best FF camera, the best wide angle, throw in an UWA as well. Get the most stable and lightest tripod possible, the best filters you can get (CPL, GNDs, NDs etc), unscrew and throw away your UV filter, keep your camera remote with you.

Don?t forget ? a torch with batteries which have been charged, water and some snacks / biscuits etc (no don?t leave the plastic behind after you are done with your photos)

Visualise

You need to visualize the image before you trip the shutter. Everything that looks good to you in real life will not look good in a photograph if you just point the camera in the right direction and press the button?unless if you are really lucky.

During the course of your landscape photography if you happen to come across some idiots littering the place do kick them off the cliff. For this reason you need to wear good hiking boots.

Composition

Look for ?

Background / middle / forground ? if you?ve got all 3 in the pic then it will make your photo look better than a normal 2 dimensional image?it will give it a feeling of depth .

Patterns ? look for patterns on plains, hills, trees etc

Minimilistic / negative space ? will do a write up on this later?for now use google or just forget about this point